A Prayer for the Weeds . . .

weeds taller than meThe weeds in my garden are seriously overgrown this year. The poison ivy has turned into a pretty tall shrub, poking its nasty leaves out of my neighbor’s azalea bushes. The leaves are so close to the walking path, I’ve been tempted to go over there with a pair of long clippers and take the bush down to its roots–tempted I’m saying because I’m very allergic to its oils myself, and there may be undesirable repercussions.

The dandelion plants grew to almost 6 feet in my own garden. However the deer and the groundhogs attacked their leaves from both levels, and now they’re just dying, barren stalks. I have the weed barrel outside my door, waiting for me to go out there and uproot them all. Maybe tomorrow.

There are unidentified plants growing in another spot in the garden–tall, vertical plants, with serrated leaves–about ten of them in rows, as if they were planted deliberately–but there are no flowers, so they must be weeds, right? I’ll pull them too.

This mountain top grows robust weeds–mostly in my garden. My neighbors seem to have mastered the technique of planting weed-adverse gardens. Except for those on either side of me!

monster weedMy neighbor on my other side has a monster weed growing out of his hedges right next to my patio bench. I cut it down earlier in the season, but now it’s diversified and growing two new separate stalks right out of the top of his hedges in the same spot.

I need help identifying these vegetative predators. I recognize the poison ivy structures, but the others have those non-descript white tiny flowers similar to sumac and poison oak plants.

Weeds are also biblical…bushes, characters, nations. . . growing hand in hand with fruitful vines, wheat stalks, and righteous nations. It’s tough assigning honor to them. But while it’s tempting to want to just wipe them all out, I have to acknowledge that I see a natural and kingdom function for even the most recalcitrant ones. But Lord, I’ve got one question: What function did you plan for poison ivy?

The very ground is cursed because of you; getting food from the ground will be as painful as having babies is for your wife; you’ll be working in pain all your life long. The ground will sprout thorns and weeds, you’ll get your food the hard way, Planting and tilling and harvesting. (Genesis 3:17b-18a)

Don’t be misled: No one makes a fool of God. What a person plants, he will harvest. The person who plants selfishness, ignoring the needs of others–ignoring God–harvests a crop of weeds. All he’ll have to show for his life is weeds! But the one who plants in response to God, letting God’s Spirit do the growth work in him, harvests a crop of real life, eternal life. (Galatians 6:7-8)

Lord, don’t let me become a weed in Your garden, please? I want my harvest to bear honorable fruit for Your Kingdom!

Comments are closed.