Heroes . . .

For weeks now, from nowhere I can identify, I’ve had a song running through my head. It’s Bonnie Tyler’s song, I Need a Hero. I had to google the words to even identify the author and lyrics. I also dug up a Disney version.

I don’t understand my sudden preoccupation with words of a song that barely registered in my consciousness before. But today the song feels like a prayer that I need to urgently declare over my world. And I can’t explain why, exactly.

In my heart, I believe that the Spirit of God is calling us to deeper, more intense levels of personal and corporate heroism, and that call is urgent. But I don’t know why, or what’s up with His using secular lyrics to get His point across. But He *is* God, so who’s gonna argue with His logic?

Real heroes are hard to find. This week I read an account of a soldier, Spc Channing Moss, in Afghanistan who received what should have been a lethal combat injury. But his unit and the field surgeon’s unit decided they were not going to let him die. They got it…the “hero” thing…the “no greater love than this” thing…

This is my command: Love one another the way I loved you. This is the very best way to love. Put your life on the line for your friends. (John 15:12-13)

We know what love is because Jesus gave his life for us. That’s why we must give our lives for each other. If we have all we need and see one of our own people in need, we must have pity on that person, or else we cannot say we love God. . . you show love for others by truly helping them, and not merely by talking about it. (1 John 3:16-18)

Comments are closed.