Life In Ordinary Time . . .

It’s supposed to snow Friday night. After a very mild Fall, and weather in the 50 to 80 degree range for most of October, Nature has suddenly turned the Susquehanna Valley cold. Daylight Savings Time ended last weekend, so it’s darker earlier and grayer longer. We all knew it was coming, but now, with the coming snow, local residents have begun to notice — Winter is imminent.

It’s time to gather the fallen leaves before ice and snow turn them into walking hazards, and to go by the hardware store to get rock salt for the steps and paths around the car. Speaking of my car, I think it might be time to change the oil and see about putting antifreeze in the radiator.

 I’ll get my winter clothes out of the trunks this weekend–probably. And I’ll wash the last load of clothes before I have to drag the laundry carrier through 2-feet drifts to get to the laundry room. I’ve already covered the inside surface of the 6 ft by 6 ft screens with opaque plastic–to help insulate my two large livingroom windows from the full force of the winds that whip around the mountaintop. I would like to avoid the 45-degree temperatures of last winter.

I’m off from work for the next four days–which is a good thing, considering the winterizing chores that I will need to finish before the snow comes. But I’ll have to work hard to resist the urge to just crawl up under the covers and stay there until Spring comes. It’s burdensome being a hermit in the Winter here.

Comments are closed.