Healing the Ravages of Sin (Cont) . . .

Healing sometimes takes a complicated route. When the Lord first told me to ask for healing for the ravages of sin in my life, the first thing I did, after I prayed in that first moment, was to quiet down. I don’t know any other way to be with Him. When the Lord volunteers to do something Himself, it’s good to just get out of the way and let Him. John understood that…

This is the assigned moment for him to move into the center, while I slip off to the sidelines. (John 3:30)

It’s a time to stop trying to make things happen yourself, a time to put everything down, and just sit peacefully, because He comes in that stillness. So I’m sitting peacefully, waiting. I know He will act because He told me to ask. I know I will be healed. I just don’t know how or where. He’s the only one who knows.

Healing the ravages of sin takes divine insight. First there are the sins we’ve personally perpetrated against ourselves and others. Those are the ones whose memories come back to haunt me most often. Then there are the sins other people have perpetrated against us, as children, as family members, as community members, because we’re “different,” etc. The list of possible woundings is endless. No one but the Lord will be able to get to the root causes of all those wounds. It’s a good thing He volunteered.

If I can’t sort out the ravages in my life that need healing, I know better than to tell you how or where healing needs to occur in your life. Sometimes I have some clues, but those are only clues, and the ravages of sin in each of our lives have different, multiple sources–sometimes reaching back a long way, through families, circumstances, cultures, and centuries of refinement. Sin has long roots.

So my friends, wait with me, in patient anticipation, for Him to heal us all. Because He told us to ask Him. For some reason, He wants to do this Himself.

This means that no one can boast in God’s presence. But God has brought you into union with Christ Jesus, and God has made Christ to be our wisdom. By him we are put right with God; we become God’s holy people and are set free. So then, as the scripture says, “Whoever wants to boast must boast of what the Lord has done.” (1 Corinthians 1:29-31)

Comments are closed.