By Their Fruits, You Will Know Them . . .

A tree is identified by its fruit. If a tree is good, its fruit will be good. If a tree is bad, its fruit will be bad… whatever is in your heart determines what you say [and do.] A good person produces good things from the treasury of a good heart, and an evil person produces evil things from the treasury of an evil heart. (Matthew 12:33-35)

In the middle of any upheaval, it’s hard to figure out what is going on and what is motivating the participants. But it’s pretty easy to tell from hindsight. In the case of the current upheaval in Kenya, the fruit is particularly poisonous. Check out this video and its related news coverage.

My heart cries out to the Lord for the thousands of innocent families and children who have been tortured and murdered, or driven off their homes, farms, and communities. Lord deliver Kenya from the tyranny of truly evil men . . .

O LORD my God, in you I have taken shelter.
Deliver me from all who chase me! Rescue me!
Otherwise they will rip me to shreds like a lion;
they will tear me to bits and no one will be able to rescue me.

May the evil deeds of the wicked come to an end! But make the innocent secure, O righteous God, you who examine inner thoughts and motives! The Exalted God is my shield, the one who delivers the morally upright.

O righteous God, you who examine inner thoughts and motives! See the one who is pregnant with wickedness, who conceives destructive plans, and gives birth to harmful lies–he digs a pit and then falls into the hole he has made. He becomes the victim of his own destructive plans and the violence he intended for others falls on his own head. I will thank the LORD for his justice; I will sing praises to the sovereign LORD! (Psalm 7:1-2, 9-10, 14-17)

Comments are closed.