Accidental Cuisine . . .

The other night I decided to make homemade cream of mushroom soup. I had the Half&Half, I had the mushrooms, I had the flour, butter, garlic and onions, and I was bored with the other choices in my freezer. But just after I sauteed everything, I went looking for the stock, and there wasn’t any. I used the last of it weeks ago and forgot to buy more. So I dumped in the quart of H&H and sampled a small bowlful. It was very thick. I put the entire pot in the fridge, figuring I’d decide what to do with it later.

Last night, on the way home, I thought about it and decided to make fettucini alfredo with leftover macaroni, frozen shrimp, the mushroom soup, some frozen peas and Romano cheese. I had all the ingredients sitting in the fridge waiting.

So I reheated what was left of the squiggly macaroni, nuked the peas to cook them, added butter to the noodles and peas, pulled some shrimp out of the freezer and sauteed them with fresh garlic, put a couple of ladles of the soup on top of the shrimp to heat it, then put everything together in a bowl. I had enough left over for lunch! It’s a little high on the caloric side, but it was really good. Go figure.

Comments are closed.