Legacies . . .

I was driving home Saturday night in a Spring rain. The ground was fragrant with the aromas of plowed fields, new plant growth, flowers, and wet earth. It was dusk, and the gathering night and humidity created a smoky mist across the fields and mountains that cast shadow clouds along the horizon. Between the light rain, the glistening roads, the fragrance, and the approaching shadows, it was very beautiful and romantic. I wanted to stay in the moment, to stop driving and to rest there, in the beauty of that evening. I love rainy Spring and Summer nights.

However, driving in Southeastern Pennsylvania in the rain is no place to lollygag or embrace anything but the steering wheel. As I drove on, entranced by the beauty of the evening storm, I thought to myself, “I would like it to rain like this on the day they lay me into the ground.” Then it would be OK to stay in the moment. I could dance joyfully in the rain with the angels, all the way to my body’s resting place. And I would ask my Father to overwhelm everyone who went with us that day! We would all dance and celebrate together! I love to dance.

Everyday moments bring real joy to me in this stage of my life. I live mostly in the present, pausing more and more to live in moments of surrender and communion. God’s always been real to me. Even when I wasn’t paying all that much attention to Him, I knew He was there.

There are more times now when I feel really close to His creation–not just to my friends and the people I interact with or encounter, but all creation–wind, rain, thunder, lightening, trees, earth, sky, sunshine, rain, my mountain, all of it. The Earth has become very precious to me. Maybe these “now” moments are common to folks in my stage of life.

Legacies are another thing I’ve been pondering recently. I want to think about what gifts my generation will leave to help heal and restore our suffering world… What will we pass on to our children and their children’s children? How can we move through this world in ways that will give them a blessed inheritance?

Today I was listening to a rebroadcast of an NPR show, FreshAir Weekend, and found another brother reflecting on his similar journey. His name is Dan Gottlieb. Here is the link to his interview. His comments on his journey are precious too.

I am going to use wise sayings and explain mysteries from the past, things we have heard and known, things that our ancestors told us. We will not keep them from our children; we will tell the next generation about the LORD’s power and his great deeds and the wonderful things he has done. He gave laws to the people of Israel and commandments to the descendants of Jacob. He instructed our ancestors to teach his laws to their children, so that the next generation might learn them and in turn should tell their children. In this way they also will put their trust in God and not forget what he has done, but always obey his commandments. (Psalm 78:2-7)

Remember that the LORD your God is the only God and that he is faithful. He will keep his covenant and show his constant love to a thousand generations of those who love him and obey his commands. (Deuteronomy 7:9)

Comments are closed.