Reflections on Family Life and Fathers

 Sometimes I wonder how God our Father gets anything done… I mean seriously. When I look around, I see us all promoting our own understandings, our own agendas, and our own interpretations of what He meant by what He said.  For the most part, folks seem as if they’re ignoring or discrediting what He really said and doing whatever they  want to do. It’s discouraging to watch, and even more discouraging when I find myself participating in the disruption. . .

It all sounds more like cacaphony than a symphony of Kingdom relationships. How will our Father ever transform all our noise and disobedience into the coming of His Kingdom?  It’s a lot like the chaos of ordinary everyday family life, huh!

Thank God for His Father’s hand on the reins of our lives…guiding, directing, correcting, nurturing, supporting, and making music from the discord. And thank God for our earthly fathers, who chart our families’ courses and steer, if imperfectly, our lives toward our heavenly home.

Today is Father’s Day in the US. It’s a day for celebrating the influence fathers have in the development of our families, our culture, and His Kingdom. All week I’ve been remembering my own father, and the things I loved about being near him. I’ve also been spending a lot more time in the Family Room with my heavenly Father.  I want to be so much like Him that eventually no one will be able to tell us apart. That is going to take some serious “face time.”

My children, listen when your father corrects you.
Pay attention and learn good judgment. (Proverbs 4:1)

Good friend, follow your father’s good advice;
   don’t wander off from your mother’s teachings.
Wrap yourself in them from head to foot;
   wear them like a scarf around your neck.
Wherever you walk, they’ll guide you;
   whenever you rest, they’ll guard you;
   when you wake up, they’ll tell you what’s next.
For sound advice is a beacon,
   good teaching is a light,
   moral discipline is a life path. (Proverbs 6:20-23)

Jesus answered: “Don’t you know me, Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? Don’t you believe that I am in the Father, and that the Father is in me? The words I say to you are not just my own. Rather, it is the Father, living in me, who is doing his work. Believe me when I say that I am in the Father and the Father is in me; or at least believe on the evidence of the miracles themselves. I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing. They will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Son may bring glory to the Father. (John 14:9-13)

Comments are closed.