A Mouse in the House . . .

Human beings have strong control impulses. We all take the “control” notion very seriously-at least when it comes to our own fiefdoms. (We’re not quite so diligent with Kingdom stewardship.) But regularly, life thwarts our little schemes and plans. Last night was one of those times.

My house is my kingdom..that’s right…mine! I control who comes and goes (for the most part.) I control what gets cleaned, what gets kept or pitched, and every other event in the house. Or so I think. It’s a small domain but it’s mine to govern. That all ended last night. Last night, the Untenable happened–a brazen little furry intruder illegally crossed the border into my kingdom, ‘er queendom.

One tiny-but-not-so-skinny brown field mouse hopped out of the water heater closet onto the kitchen floor. When he saw me, he turned and scurried right back where he came from, but it was too late. I saw him. Now I know he’s here and I know he will come back. And from the look of him, he’s been here before. That critter was *not* malnourished.

It’s not that I haven’t suspected that critters might be playing in my kitchen or co-habiting in my space. I’ve never seen “telltale signs” but I have heard noises–occasionally things go bang in the night, and sometimes from my bedroom, I have heard dozens of tiny critter feet, scurrying along inside the walls and ceiling–together. (What–do all mice travel in mouse clans like gypsies?) But I’ve never seen them before. Now I have to decide exactly how I’m going to put a halt to his misadventures. It probably will not end happily for that rodent…

Today however, I have been considering the possibility that the miscreant rodent might be God’s messenger to me. He’s a metaphor for humanity’s usurpation of Kingdom resources for our own designs, for our “little less than the angels” position, and for our routine disruptions of the Divine order of things. His inevitable fate is also a metaphor for the difference between my response and the response of a supremely loving God, who puts up with all our shenanigans through countless generations and continues to love us all and provide for us.

O Lord, You are my God. I will praise You. I will give thanks to Your name. For You have been faithful to do great things, plans that You made long ago. For You have been a strong-place for those who could not help themselves and for those in need because of much trouble. You have been a safe place from the storm and a shadow from the heat. It will be said in that day, “See, this is our God. We have waited for Him, that He might save us. This is the Lord for Whom we have waited. Let us be glad and full of joy because He saves us.”(Isaiah 25:1,4,9)

Comments are closed.