Homeless on a Country Road . . .

Today, on my way to a weekly doctor’s appointment, I passed a curious sight on the country road by the interstate. It looked like a homeless person. I could not see his face. It was hooded, and the whole apparition was draped in “stuff”–a ragged pink blanket, the black hoodie, layers of clothes and other things, all perched on a bicycle. The form wasn’t moving. In fact it looked like he was standing with the bicycle, peering out at farmland through binoculars. He was still there an hour later when I passed going in the opposite direction.

I’ve spent three decades in urban locations, so I’ve seen lots of homeless people–an old naked woman outside the New York City train station, dozens of folks sleeping in a box city in the tunnels under Philadelphia’s city hall, men on the street sleeping on steam vents and in subway corridors, and even women with babies panhandling by the doors of a local farmers market. But I’ve never seen a homeless person on a country road before.

I pulled into a MacDonalds that was close by and told the two policemen parked there what I had seen. The older one said they knew about him. They told me he was a local man who used to live nearby, but had been gone for years. He showed up about a month ago, and had been sited in various places around the county.

They also said they had all his contact information, but that it was a free country, and anyone who wanted to be homeless in the county had a right to be homeless. They were also pretty sure he was mentally ill, but not violent. I thanked them and left.

I didn’t know what to do, but I thought about him all day. I was sorry I didn’t ask those policemen his name. Now I have to pray for him as the “homeless man on Limekiln road.” I need some help on this one folks.

Will you join me and agree for his healing and deliverance together? He needs to experience Jesus’ healing love through us. He’s in no condition to ask for it himself, please?

Go to the lost, confused people right here in the neighborhood. Tell them that the kingdom is here. Bring health to the sick. Raise the dead. Touch the untouchables. Kick out the demons. You have been treated generously, so live generously. (Matthew 10:6-8.)

Comments are closed.