Walking the Freedom Trail . . .

If the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed. (John 8:36)

Christ has set us free to live a free life. So take your stand! Never again let anyone put a harness of slavery on you.

It is absolutely clear that God has called you to a free life. Just make sure that you don’t use this freedom as an excuse to do whatever you want to do and destroy your freedom. Rather, use your freedom to serve one another in love; that’s how freedom grows. For everything we know about God’s Word is summed up in a single sentence: Love others as you love yourself. That’s an act of true freedom. My counsel is this: Live freely, animated and motivated by God’s Spirit. (Galatians 5:1,13-14,16)

I’ve been thinking and dreaming about freedom–a lot. It feels as if everything in my life–my prayer, my attitudes, my reflections, my activities, my understanding, and my memories–are all moving toward “Freedom.” God has given all of us freedom from the bondage of sin and freedom for growing His Kingdom. But it’s the kind of gift that will not grow unless it’s used–it’s meant to be shared! I’m just beginning to realize how important using our freedom is to growing His Kingdom on earth.

For a few years now, I have been praying 2 Corinthians 10:3-5–invoking authority in the Spirit and in the Name of Jesus over the strongholds that hold His people on earth in bondage. I want the Kingdom to come in us with the same power, presence, and authority that it has in heaven. Because we have been given the job of managing the earth, I know that we need to agree with heaven to bring heaven’s power to earth. But I also know that we won’t experience full Kingdom freedom until we break the stranglehold that deception has on our understanding.

So I’m committed to being that kind of intercessor. I want all of us to realize we are all already FREE, thanks to Jesus! Not only have we been freed by His authority, but we’ve been chosen to share that authority as believers and disciples!¬† We need to stop surrendering our authority to darkness at the first sign of trouble, and to actively use the awesome, freely-given authority we already have in Christ to set the captives free!

In my own life, there are strongholds that have taken me years to overcome. Just getting rid of the ones I’ve inherited is taking some serious effort! I understand all of us have challenges, but sometimes I wonder why it takes us all so long to notice we’re tied up!

Anyway, what His Word has been telling me lately about freedom is that it’s not enough to *be* free–He’s given us freedom to use–to help free our world. I guess, for each of us, how we do that will be different. For me, using freedom as a Kingdom tool is going to take some more prayer, more insight, and more effort. My part in the coming of His kingdom is finally taking on form and substance.

Don’t begin by traveling to some far-off place to convert unbelievers. And don’t try to be dramatic by tackling some public enemy. Go to the lost, confused people right here in the neighborhood. Tell them that the kingdom is here. Bring health to the sick. Raise the dead. Touch the untouchables. Kick out the demons. You have been treated generously, so live generously. (Matthew 10:5-8.)

Comments are closed.