“Beyond The Curse” . . .

My computer got sick this week–with some able help from me! I took down my trusty Kaspersky Internet Security Suite, because my video streaming wasn’t working and I wanted to see what was interfering with it. I installed an expired McAfee anti-virus edition, but that obviously was not working either. What “streamed” past was a nasty computer virus. So my home computer went off to the computer shop and I used my four days off from work to garden, read, run errands, and do laundry.

So after I went to church, did the laundry, the dishes, and removed the weeds and about 100 lbs of rocks along the garden edges, I decided to sit down and read. The book I picked is one a friend in Kenya, who is doing her graduate studies, recommended; Beyond The Curse, by Aida Besancon Spencer, (an ordained minister.) It’s an awesome word study of the roles women have played throughout scripture and do play today in God’s Kingdom. And there’s a great afterword by her husband, also an ordained minister, on doing  the work of gospel stewardship together! I’m reading slowly though…I need time to absorb and think about what I’m reading.

I really love word studies. There is so much bad baggage in interpretations of what Jesus meant by what He said that I just don’t trust the easy explanations and pat answers anymore. I feel compelled to look beneath the obvious to the real meaning of His Word. I need to understand what Jesus really wants of us, not what folks with limited understanding have interpreted what He “really” meant, or what He means now, about women, discipleship, and bringing His Kingdom to earth. Jesus saw it in the religious leaders of His time, and Christianity picked up the revisionist habit early in its history.

And he said to them: “You have a fine way of setting aside the commands of God in order to observe your own traditions! Thus you nullify the word of God by your tradition that you have handed down. And you do many things like that.” (Mark 7:9,13)

Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight. (Proverbs 3:5-6)

Comments are closed.