Overcome by the ‘Christmas Spirit’ . . .

christmas_lights_pa1

As I drove home from work at night this week along the back roads, passing house after house covered with Christmas lights, I felt the ‘Christmas Grinch’ going away! No contempt for all the commercial trappings, no scorn for the monstrous Frosty the Snowman and Santa lawn ornaments, just peaceful, wondrous glee!

Yes, I know…I thought about all those financially-strapped home owners, opening their $1500 December electric bills, and the irony that most Americans can afford to light up our neighborhoods while much of the world’s neighborhoods have no electricity at all. I thought about all of that…but still, in the darkness, driving home, I have been unaccountably overcome with feelings of wonder and joy, and real, unshakable peace . . .

Comments are closed.