A Long Winter’s Nap . . .

venus-crescent-moon_med

It’s bitterly cold tonight… Winter has suddenly turned deadly serious. As I walked to my car after work, the wind caught me in a death grip, and I regretted grabbing just a sweater before I left the house.

Once I was inside the car, with the heater turned on, I saw the night sky–there’s a spectacular waxing crescent moon, with Venus just below it. They were just hanging there together in the sky, like a lantern, first on one side, then another, overhead and then behind. By the time I pulled up to the house, they had come to rest above my mountain. How can such creative splendor not have a Creator?

By the time I came to the door, I was numb again. I can understand how hands and feet suddenly freeze during prolonged exposure to the elements. I don’t enjoy the winter’s soul-numbing cold. But needing to warm up again motivated me to put a roast in the oven. If I’m going to use electricity, it makes sense to make it serve more than one purpose. I’m still cold though.

After college, I toyed with the idea of taking a job in St Thomas,VI. At the time, I could not muster the courage to leave familiar surroundings. Now, in hindsight, that hesitation seems seriously stupid.

So tonight, I’ going to turn on the small space heater and my heating blanket, put on socks, a fleece robe, and flannel nightgown, then crawl under the covers, shivering like a naked mole rat. Some time around 6am, I’ll be warm again.

I do not like Winter.

Comments are closed.