Sunday Morning Lessons

It snowed last night . . .

When I rolled over to my window this morning to open it, the ground and roof over the sun room glistened with about an inch of new snow.

A view from the window is about the sum of my contact with nature now.  I see a few sprawling oak trees, the tops of a line of cedars just past the sun room, the sky, and a few very active squirrels doing ‘squirrel things’ on those bare oak branches. When I go out, I also get to watch the landscape from the back window of the van or ambulance.

My world is definitely smaller on the outside, but expanding in my private space, which is not so private anymore. I spend a lot more time interacting with other people–rehab staff, hospital personnel, ambulance drivers and nurses, and a constant stream of visitors from work, CLA, and local youth groups. I’m not used to having so many people around, or so many distractions. Every once in awhile I find myself purposefully sitting alone in the bathroom, just looking for some private time with Him.

I also have a room mate–a 94 yr old, seriously feisty African American woman whose son is the Chief of Medicine at Howard University. Her family, what I’ve seen of them, are awesome–tall, handsome, winsome believers, who are nurturing and concerned, and who fuss over her when they come. However feisty she is, good fruit is solid evidence of a good tree! She’s in the hospital right now. I find myself sometimes missing her company.

My friends Curt & Vi brought me a couple of posters for the bulletin boards on my side of the room–one is a picture of a kitten in a watering can. It says “When God is in our heart, any place is home.” The kitten is beautiful–gray, black and white. When I look at it, I am awestruck by the all-encompassing love of a God who created kittens and pronounced them ‘good.’ Like the sky, the trees, and all His handiwork, kittens bear tangible witness  to His Presence, Power, and faithful care for all His Creation. Everything I lay my eyes on says, “I am here, I love you all, and I am having a good time!”

The other poster is a verse from Psalms.

The LORD lives! Praise be to my Rock! Exalted be God my Savior! Therefore I will praise you among the nations, O LORD; I will sing praises to your name. (Psalm 18:46,49)

Comments are closed.