Rain, Rain, & More Rain . . .

Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good.
His love endures forever.

Give thanks to the God of gods.
His love endures forever.

Give thanks to the Lord of lords:
His love endures forever.

to him who alone does great wonders,
His love endures forever. (Psalm 136:1-4)

I’m feeling really grateful this week. I’ve been freed to go back to work, and I almost have everything unpacked in my new apartment. But I’m also feeling a little overwhelmed with all the changes.

It’s not that I’m change-adverse. It’s just that I’ve had more than my share of them this year, and it’s only May. So it doesn’t matter what the next change is–at this point my stomach is churning with anticipation, seriously.

I’m not usually anxious. As an adolescent and young adult I was always anxious. But one day I noticed that the anxiety had disappeared, and I had developed a calm center that seemed unshakable. That calm center is still  there, but tonight I’m feeling overwhelmed. Maybe it’s the rain…

It’s time to sit with my Lord and listen. Listening calms and soothes my spirit. My spirit needs soothing tonight.

Comments are closed.