Fields of Summer Wheat & Corn . . .

P1010003

OK,  so those fields I thought were alfalfa are actually spring/summer wheat. My friend Curt, with his PhD in Agronomy,  identified them for me. He tells me alfalfa is bright green. ; )

He also pointed out that the fields of low-to-the-ground green vegetation are soy beans. Who knew?

I’m from New Jersey–I know what tomatoes, peppers, and corn look like for sure! But nobody in my neighborhood grew wheat!

It turns out that at least half of the wheat fields are already either ready for harvest or harvested, including the stalks. Those fields are bald as a Marine recruit’s scalp! Farmers roll the stalks into huge hay bales, but not quite bales in the way I know bales. Look!  These farmers are serious  about using everything!P1010005

It’s tough to imagine that those farmers actually pitch those monsters off some hay wagon!

Last night I passed two young men in their fields, baling the remnants of this season’s crop. When I drove by on the way to work, they had waved, but on my way home, they were so engrossed in whatever they were doing, I didn’t beep.

The corn crops are still in the growing stage. Some fields are 3 feet tall already, but most are between 12 and 24 inches. Corn will be plentiful this summer-thanks to all the rain here!

Personally, I love tomatoes–fresh, ripe, sweet, and juicy–not the paraffin-soaked, gas-injected-to-make-them-red motley ones from the supermarket bins. My friends Curt & Vi have some planted. We’re all impatiently waiting for them to grow!

Peaches are yummy too. When they’re ripe, they’re really juicy sweet. The juice runs down my arm when I bite into them.

When we were kids, we would go into the PA mountains with my aunts to pick wild blueberries and blackberries. Those plump, juicy berries made awesome pies and tarts. For berries, “wild” tastes better than farm-grown.

Summer is a wonder-filled season. Fresh, vine-ripened fruits and vegetables are lushious treats–and a welcome diet, after a winter of starches and meat. Some days I’ll have a vegetable salad, corn on the cob, or an all-fruit entree just for the sheer dining pleasure those delicacies provide.

Thank you Father, for the beauty and providence of your creation!

You care for the land and water it;
you enrich it abundantly.
The streams of God are filled with water
to provide the people with grain,
for so you have ordained it. [c]

You drench its furrows
and level its ridges;
you soften it with showers
and bless its crops.

You crown the year with your bounty,
and your carts overflow with abundance.

The grasslands of the desert overflow;
the hills are clothed with gladness.

The meadows are covered with flocks
and the valleys are mantled with grain;
they shout for joy and sing.

(Psalm 65:9-13)

Comments are closed.