Red Fox Hunting . . .

road-runner

As I was driving to work today a young red fox raced across the road in front of my car. This one’s not so “street-wise”! ; )))

Life is good this summer. Farmers have harvested their wheat fields, the corn is ready to pick, and the soy bean fields are dark, strong, and plentiful. It’s been hot, so the cows have taken to lying around in the evening, usually in cool mud, until it’s too dark to stay outside.

We’ve also had a lot of rain–I’m beginning to feel water-logged. One night last week, I tooled home, thinking I was going to have a quiet, blessed night alone, but when I got out of my car, the landlord’s son pulled up to tell me that the six inches of rain in the last two hours poured over the garden wall into my patio and into my living room. <sigh>

All these events, and more, have come with an equal amount of grace and insight about not taking offense when life challenges my expectations. I’m so grateful for the way that my Father has lifted my tendency to take offense at everything.

My family was accustomed to take offense at every turn. You know what I mean–whenever someone made a mistake or said something even marginally ambiguous, they became an object of scorn, ridicule, contempt, and even outright aggression. It took me years to realize that taking offense at something someone said, did, or didn’t do was optional!

Now I hear Him speaking to me whenever an opportunity to grouse arises, showing me how to¬†experience the situation from His perspective. It’s made my relationships so much easier to navigate. Thank you Father!

Walk with me and work with me–watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.(Matthew 11:29-30)

My grace is enough; it’s all you need. My strength comes into its own in your weakness. Once I heard that, I was glad to let it happen. I quit focusing on the handicap and began appreciating the gift. It was a case of Christ’s strength moving in on my weakness. Now I take limitations in stride, and with good cheer, these limitations that cut me down to size–abuse, accidents, opposition, bad breaks. I just let Christ take over! And so the weaker I get, the stronger I become. (2 Corinthians 12:9-10)

Lord, may Your grace empower us, embolden us, awaken us, and direct us – past the small, narrow, dank confines of our own understanding – into a new awareness of Your Power and Presence in our lives and in our world!. . . Amen

Comments are closed.