Running of the Bulls …

angus bullsIt must be breeding season. Tonight on my way home, past the local farms and pastures, the bulls were running–well at least riding, or moseying up to introduce themselves.

I stopped on the road at one farm to take pictures, and as soon as the alpha bull noticed me, he wandered over to his choice, and put his head across her back, then lifted his head over her and looked at me, as if to be sure I noticed him!

He was all black but, like the poor man in that movie, The Fly, he had a huge black and white head–and what looked like a very long, chunky white sack on his underside. I snickered as I drove on–‘nahhhh, it can’t be…’

I’m learning lots about cycles of farm life now that I live in the country.

The soybean fields are really green and full. One crop in particular is at least 24 inches high! Most are bushy and low to the ground. They all have identifying signs, to tell farmers exactly which strain of seed was planted.

Feed corn is everywhere. I stopped one night to pick an ear, to sample it. But when I got it home, it was brown and hard–my friend Curt said they leave it on the stalk, and let it dry completely. Then they either grind it up for corn meal or grind the entire plant for feed silage. One thing for sure–I won’t be picking another ear to eat!

It’s an awesome drive every day–God’s creation is everywhere, speaking to me of His love, and providence, and talent! Who could make a cow but Him? What man could create the soybean, make it grow and bear fruit? Who make a randy bull with a huge but very cool black and white head!? Our God is an awesome God!!

Yes, we’re created in His image and likeness, but our creativity is only a shadow, an echo of  His magnificence and glory!

We look at this Son and see the God who cannot be seen. We look at this Son and see God’s original purpose in everything created. For everything, absolutely everything, above and below, visible and invisible, rank after rank after rank of angels–everything got started in him and finds its purpose in him. He was there before any of it came into existence and holds it all together right up to this moment. (Colossians 1:15-17)

Comments are closed.