Giving Thanks . . .

I’ve been out of sorts lately. Have you noticed? I just scrolled back over a few of my latest posts, and they sound really whiny! I apologize for that. Sometimes being ‘transparent’ means sharing what folks may not want to read. The good news–for those of you who actually interact with me–is that generally, I tend to be funnier in person. But enough about ‘me.’

Tomorrow, Thanksgiving in the US, is my favorite holiday of the whole year. It has real substance–gratefulness. Thanksgiving Day is about being grateful to our Creator–God–for life, for His provision, for the earth, for beauty, for cows, and farms–for everything!

In our family, the best Thanksgivings happened at my grandparents. Family would come in from everywhere–cousins, aunts, uncles, children, grandchildren, friends, and neighbors–and, after a lengthy and detailed prayer of Thanksgiving, we would celebrate together all day and far into the night!


The food was a cross-cultural feast–Italian wedding soup, salad, pasta, lasagna, stuffed shells, braciaola, sausage, veal, pork, and meatballs, followed by turkey, gravy, stuffing, mashed and candied sweet potatoes, and green beans.

Desserts, expresso, and regular coffee for the faint of heart followed–topped off with fruit, nuts, chocolates, Italian pastries, pies, and Italian candies. Each one ate what they could, and everyone took plate-loads home too! It was a once-a-year time of plenty. For me, the best part was being with everyone, and sitting around the table listening to all the family stories, between helpings of soup, salad, pasta and dark-meat turkey!

Grandparents really are the heart and soul of our world–they have the best memories, the wisest advice, the most scrumptious recipes, and the most time to spend loving the rest of us. Thanksgiving is about families–from grandparents to the newest member of our families, gathering together to  love each other! Now that we’re members of the family of God, let’s celebrate the wisdom, the love, the care, and the legacies that our grandparents around the world have blessed us with, and for the testimony of their lives, their values, and their walk with our God!

Happy Thanksgiving, Grandparents, we give thanks for all of you, for everything you’ve done for us, and for all the seeds you’ve sown into our lives and our hearts!

All who worship the LORD, now praise him! You belong to Jacob’s family and to the people of Israel, so fear and honor the LORD! The LORD doesn’t hate or despise the helpless in all of their troubles. When I cried out, he listened and did not turn away. When your people meet, you will fill my heart with your praises, LORD, and everyone will see me keep my promises to you. The poor will eat and be full, and all who worship you will be thankful and live in hope. Everyone on this earth will remember you, LORD. People all over the world will turn and worship you, because you are in control, the ruler of all nations.  All who are rich and have more than enough will bow down to you, Lord. Even those who are dying and almost in the grave will come and bow down. In the future, everyone will worship and learn about you, our Lord. People not yet born will be told, “The Lord has saved us!” (Psalm 22:23-31)

I will never give up hope or stop praising you. All day long I will tell the wonderful things you do to save your people. But you have done much more than I could possibly know. I will praise you, LORD God, for your mighty deeds and your power to save. You have taught me since I was a child, and I never stop telling about your marvelous deeds. Don’t leave me when I am old and my hair turns gray. Let me tell future generations about your mighty power. (Psalm 71:14-18.)

Comments are closed.