Dreamscapes . . .

‘This is what I will do in the last days, God says: I will pour out my Spirit on everyone. Your sons and daughters will proclaim my message; your young men will see visions, and your old men will have dreams. Yes, even on my servants, both men and women, I will pour out my Spirit in those days, and they will proclaim my message.  I will perform miracles in the sky above and wonders on the earth below. (Acts 2:17-19)

Bill Johnson has a book out, Dreaming With God. I’ve never read it all the way through, but I plan to, soon. Amazon has it on audio download. I want to dream with God. I mean, I dream ordinary dreams all the time, but God’s dreams have the power to bring heaven’s power and presence into our world. To dream God’s dreams with Him is to actively partner with God to bring heaven to earth! Alone I’m just one more flawed character, but connected to His dream, I’m part of His healing, restoring, redemptive plan for all of  us! Now’s there’s a career plan worth pursuing!

I’ve been a dreamer my whole life. My next-younger sister, Patricia, once said to someone, “I’m the practical one, she’s the smart one.” I’ve been thinking about my sisters a lot lately.  But I’ve also been thinking about my dreams, and their connection to my waking life. My night dreams have a recurring geographic dreamscape, and recurring themes; rescues, journeys, dwellings, walking, flying,  gaining advantage and losing it, embarrassing moments, like showing up somewhere in varying stages of undress, etc. And the situatons are usually all scrambled together!

I usually wake up from those dreams just in the nick of time–very happy to realize that the experience was just another product of my over-active subconscious!

Sometimes my dreams have clear stories. Once, I had a quest dream–I journeyed through roads, forests, deserts, hills, mountains, to a cowboy town in New Mexico, to an old wooden sidewalk, a wooden stairway, past a strawberry-blond floozie, to an upstairs room, where as I sat at a linotype setting type for a publication, a georgeous curly, dark-haired man kept saying to me “I love you.”  And I responded back, “I know” and kept on working.  No rhyme or reason in that one, but I remember it for it’s imagery.

Another time, after another auto accident, in a coma, I journeyed with Jesus to heaven, where he showed me an architect’s rendering of Creation. That rendering was all about relationships, and how He created them.  They were nothing like the violent, petty, jealous, judgmental intrepretation which humanity has attached to them. I remember walking along, examining His model closely, so I could come back and tell folks how things really are meant to be. that experience ended with me waking up in the ICU and calling my sister Jeannie names for being nasty.

The point to this meandering is that it’s time to think about the dreams we have, and the thoughts we play and replay over in our heads. Some dreams bring life fruit, others bring death fruit. We have a choice–at least in our waking state, about what kinds of dreams we entertain, what kinds of thoughts we hold onto.

Are we sons and daughters of the King, called to dream God’s dreams, or are we fatherless, jealous, greedy urchins, abandoned, and living in darkness. It’s time to choose–and then time to live the dreams we choose!

Do you want to be counted wise, to build a reputation for wisdom? Here’s what you do: Live well, live wisely, live humbly. It’s the way you live, not the way you talk, that counts. Mean-spirited ambition isn’t wisdom. Boasting that you are wise isn’t wisdom. Twisting the truth to make yourselves sound wise isn’t wisdom.  Whenever you’re trying to look better than others or get the better of others, things fall apart and everyone ends up at each others’ throats.

Real wisdom, God’s wisdom, begins with a holy life and is characterized by getting along with others. It is gentle and reasonable, overflowing with mercy and blessings, not hot one day and cold the next, not two-faced. You can develop a healthy, robust community that lives right with God and enjoy its results only if you do the hard work of getting along with each other, treating each other with dignity and honor. (James 3:13-14,16-18.)

Comments are closed.