Adjusting …

Sorry for the long time between posts. I’ve had a hard time lately balancing all the pressures in my life, and when I’m feeling the stress I withdraw–really, seriously hibernate, like a ‘wounded wolf cub’, hiding out in my ‘cave’ until I heal–metaphorically, of course.

I’m sure lots of folks are going through similar states of turmoil. I’m aware that I am in the majority, turmoil wise.

In my defense, the trauma of last year, with its accident, multiple surgeries, time in various levels of rehab, and the bumpy transition to wresting my life back from folks who are less-than-willing to let me manage my own affairs, has left some serious scars, and inter-relational wounds that need healing. I haven’t wanted to go anywhere except for work, for months now.

It’s easy to feel betrayed. As Christians, we have increased expectations of our Christian brothers and sisters that we don’t have toward those with other values. I find myself really frightened by Christian folks who have spent decades in ministry, but still manifest violent and hurtful behaviors when they take offense to someone.

I know that I have sometimes done that too, but at least I’m aware when I do it, and I’m working on not taking offense as a first course of action. I mean, I know I’m wrong when I get hateful–I realize it’s *my* attitude that makes me feel offended. Why d0n’t other believers notice their own abusive, bullying behaviors, especially when those behaviors recur over and over again in their relationships?

Yeh, yeh, I hear you, mumbling under your breath about taking the plank out of my own eye… It’s easier said than done. That’s where grace comes in.

Jesus, Give all of us the grace to walk with our brothers and sisters, in peace, love, and fellowship!

Since God chose you to be the holy people he loves, you must clothe yourselves with tenderhearted mercy, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience. 13 Make allowance for each other’s faults, and forgive anyone who offends you. Remember, the Lord forgave you, so you must forgive others. 14 Above all, clothe yourselves with love, which binds us all together in perfect harmony. (Colossians 3:12-14)

Comments are closed.