Changes . . .

Ecclesiastes 3 begins with “There is a time for everything,
and a season for every activity under the heavens…”
I’m feeling that this year. There have been monumental changes in my life and relationships.

Friends have moved on or died, my faith community ties have become more fragmented and strained, after the election of President Obama and local hostility to his presidency. The abrupt dismissal of my lead pastor, a man I know to be seriously smart, talented, and on fire for the Lord sent my expectations tumbling into chaos, as would-be ‘christian’ friends took offense to his activist, inclusive interpretation of discipleship. One day I realized that I could not support their views. I became intolerant of their intolerance. Go figure…

On the positive side, from my viewpoint, a family wedding last June brought some healing and restored relationships between family members long at odds with each other.

I’ve noticed that life evolves around us, whether we are ready or not, whether we want change or resist it. The cycles of life go on in endless rotations without the consent of the living or dead… I can see why some folks settle into a fatalistic attitude. If we can’t control events, why fight the tides, why swim upstream, why resist the inevitable… But some of us, myself included, are born to buck the tide…it’s genetic. Like salmon, we are hardwired to swim against the current of common understanding, and to chart our own course. We’re instruments of change too…

“…So I saw that there is nothing better for a person than to enjoy their work, because that is their lot. For who can bring them to see what will happen after them?…” (Ecclesiastes 3:22)

Comments are closed.