Living a Redeemed Life in an Unredeemed World

CounterCulture: A subculture whose values and norms of behavior deviate from those of mainstream society, often in opposition to mainstream cultural mores. A true counterculture includes a significant number of people and persists for a notable period of time. A counter-cultural movement expresses the ethos, aspirations, and dreams of a specific population during a well-defined era.

This is where my country is right now…millions of caring and compassionate citizens are mobilizing to resist the deconstruction of US democracy, and the barrage of assaults on the US Constitution. It’s a long shot. And it’s no time to ‘go along to get along’…

It’s a moment in time where a follower of Jesus is being asked to choose. It’s a moment for radical Gospel living, in a time of chaotic forces aligned to crush the poor, the disabled, the marginal, and the stranger. The Beatitudes compel us to choose->between mercy and greed, between compassion and active contempt, between faithful stewardship or destruction of anyone or anything that impedes commercial profits. It’s come to a choice, between dissembling or honesty.

I want to choose wisely. My anger and outrage sometimes obscure the road ahead. I’m not sure mercy and kindness are the best tools for this war of the worlds, but I do not ever want to be the oppressor… It’s a hard road to walk. Jesus, I’m sorry my country is so anti-Christian, anti-life, anti-stranger, anti-mercy… I’m sorry I sometimes become part of the problem. Lord, forgive us and heal our nation, please?

Comments are closed.